Cover Art from Over There

Cover Art from Over There

A game in the Great War series. "Over There" expands the previous game March To Victory and covers the 1917-18 campaigns on the Western Front (France and Italy) during World War One, plus the campaigns in Africa from 1914-1918 and a hypothetical 2nd Mexican-American War arising from Pershing’s Expedition.

Designed by A. E. Goodwin and Eric Pierce, published by Games Research/Design  in 2000

Game Components

  • 13 countersheets (3640 counters)
  • Twelve 15"x11" map sections
  • 410 pages of Order of Battle info covering 1914-1919.
  • 20 scenarios (including, The Nivelle Offensive (1917), Caporetto (1917), The Peace Offensive (1918), Black Autumn (1918), Victory in the West (1918), And the War Goes On (1919), The End of the Affair (1917-1920), The Boer Revolt, Cameroon (1914-1917), Askari! (1914-1919), Pershings Expedition (1916-17), and Sands of the Sahara (1914-1920).

Game Reports

Over There No 1: Michael Tapner and Robert Walker took on a breathless "1918" scenario from Over There that kept getting more exiting and in the end hung on several critical dice roles, each of which could have decided the game.

Over There No 2. These are the "DJ05"-reports of the still ongoing Full Campaign game of MTV/OT started by Todd E. Jahnke in 2004.

Related Games

March to Victory - Front Cover

March to Victory - Front Cover

FAQs

Rule 15G: Besieged Units and Movement

Question:
May besieged units leave the hex? Seems wrong but I can’t see where it’s forbidden.

Answer:
Good point. You are right in that the rule does not prohibit this. But it should, and I will amend the 2nd bullet to Rule 15G (Siege) in The Great War Ground Rules booklet to state: “Units of the besieged player may only enter or leave a hex under siege by means of air or naval transport…”

Source:
Arthur E. Goodwin posted on the Europa Association mailing List at Yahoo,
06:27pm Jun 29, 2002 PST

River Transports

Question:
When using river transportation capability, not RT units, do you have to
plan an invasion 1 turn in advance if intending to land in
enemy-controlled hexes?

Answer:
No, as river movement into enemy territory is
not an amphibious landing. Design Note: River movement uses local small
craft that can be rounded up in a very short period of time, without
giving the enemy any real warning; using a RT or regular naval units to
make an amphibious landing is a much more involved process.

Source:
Arthur E. Goodwin posted on the Europa Association mailing List at Yahoo,
11:47am Jun 27, 2002 PST

Rule 44E2a – Conquering Territories in Africa

Question:
Africa only VPs – As a territory can only be conquered in the Entente initial phase, does this imply that Togoland always costs the Entente at least one 10 VP loss, as it may not be
conquered till the start of September?

Answer:
No. Rule 44E2a (Africa-Only VP Awards) in the Over There Game-Specific Rules booklet, says the Entente loses 10 VPs for each turn after Aug 14 in which Togoland is not Entente-conquered. The Entente loses VPs for each turn after Aug 14 in which Togoland is unconquered. If the Entente conquers Togoland before the end of the Sep 14 turn, then Togoland is conquered during Sep I 14 and no VPs are lost. Maybe this would be clearer if “for each turn after Aug 14” were changed to read “for each full turn after Aug 14.

Source:
Arthur E. Goodwin posted on the Europa Association mailing List at Yahoo,
11:47am Jun 27, 2002 PST

Retreat Through ZOC

Question:
a) May a 7MP unit retreat into an owned, but unoccupied hex in an enemy ZOC without being cadre/Eliminated?
b) May a 7MP unit retreat into an owned, but unoccupied hex in an enemy ZOC
without being cadred/eliminated while carting 1sp?

Answer:
a) No. The special ability of units with a printed movement
rating of 6, 7, or 8 to ignore ZOCs when retreating (including retreats
before combat) only applies if the unit retreats to a
friendly-owned/occupied hex. If it retreats to a friendly-owned, but
unoccupied hex, it would be subject to elimination/reduction to
cadre/remnant due to the retreat.

b) No, see above

Source:
Arthur E. Goodwin posted on the Europa Association mailing List at Yahoo,
11:47am Jun 27, 2002 PST

Forming units counting half their RE size

Question:
Forming units can be part of a garrison but count at half RE size, is this correct?

Answer:
You are correct. This does leave the Germans in SW Africa short 1 RE towards their garrison requirement. In this instance I would go with the historical deployment
overriding the garrison requirement.

Source:
Arthur E. Goodwin posted on the Europa Association mailing List at Yahoo,
11:47am Jun 27, 2002 PST

Gallery