Europa Game IV, The German Invasion of Norway, April to June 1940.

Designed by Frank Chadwick and Paul R. Banner.

First Edition, September 1974

Initial publication. 12 x 15 zip lock bag, early games were shipped in a brown corrugated sleeve instead of a bag. Game Components:

  • one full and two partial map sheets (Europa maps 10, 5A and 11A, in white-black-blue colour)
  • two and a half sheets of die cut counters (Europa Countersheets 11, 12 & 13) (in 1st edition sheet #12 is a half-sheet)
  • one rules folder
  • one set of charts:
    • Norwegian Armed Forces Chart
    • Norwegian Initial Order of Battle
    • Allied Reinforcement Chart
    • Allied Unit Composition Chart
    • German Initial Order of Battle
    • German Reinforcement Chart
    • German Unit Composition Chart
    • CRT/Terrain Effects Chart (x2)
    • Turn Record Chart

The errata sheet for the game were dated September 1974, 1 November 1974, and 14 January 1978.

Narvik posed a problem for the Europa Series: the division-level approach of DNO made the operations in Norway trivial. Frank Chadwick determined that a detailed battalion-level approach would work on the Europa scale map of Norway. The result was an especially interesting study of invasion strategy in WW II. Narvik proved to be one of the favorite Europa games among GDW players.

Second Edition, February 1980:

Revision, reformat, and repackaging. Blue collage art box; the game was repackaged in a blue Europa Map box in October 1984. Errata sheets for the game were dated 21 April 1982 (which applied only to the first printing) and 21 April 1982. The 21 April 1982 errata is definitive.

Game Components of second edition:

  • two full map sheets (Europa Maps 10A and 5B, in white-black-blue-green-brown colour)
  • three sheets of die cut counters (Europa Countersheets 11A, 12A and 13A; for 720 counters)
  • one rules booklet (bound, without 3-hole punching, with black front cover)
  • one Norwegian and one Swedish "Europa-scale" double sided OOB/mobilisation supplement sheets
  • one set of charts:
    • Norwegian Armed Forces Chart
    • Norwegian Initial Order of Battle
    • Allied Reinforcement Chart
    • Allied Unit Composition Chart
    • German Initial Order of Battle
    • German Reinforcement Chart
    • German Unit Composition Chart
    • CRT/Terrain Effects Chart (x2)
    • Turn Record Chart

The second and subsequent printings of the 2/80 edition incorporated the map errata of the April 1982 errata, and thus the rules booklet dated 2/80 and charts dated 3/80. The 2/80 edition did not differ substantially from the 9/74 edition, but it did upgrade the maps to a multi-color format and incorporate the previously noted errata into the rules.

Print Runs:

  • (9/74) 4,895
  • (2/80) 8,420

Related Games

Narvik was succeeded by Storm over Scandinavia

Europa Play Aids Kit 3 was designed to expand Narvik.

Links

Narvik game reports on Cardboardwars

Narvik on boardgamegeek.com

As usual, Grognard.com has a bunch of Errata for Narvik

FAQs

Rule 21 – Trucks

Question:

Trucks – rule 21 says “If all friendly (currently controlling) units are eliminated, then the trucks are eliminated as well. However, trucks never retreat. Thus if the currently controlling units retreat, the trucks are left behind and are captured by the other player.”

Situation: The Norwegian defenders of Trondheim suffered a DD (defender disrupted) combat result and as part of that they must retreat. However, they are surrounded and cannot retreat.

Rule 10D1 says “If a unit cannot retreat without violating these rules, it is eliminated instead.”

What happens to trucks where the controlling player’s units are eliminated by being unable to retreat? We can see this going either way.

Answer:

The trucks are eliminated. In effect, the surrounded status of the defending units cancels their retreat and instead they are eliminated (if a unit cannot retreat, it does not retreat). Since all the defending units are eliminated, the trucks are also eliminated.

Source:

Posted by Arthur Goodwin on the Yahoo Europa Mailing list on 13.08.2013 22:04.

What is a tank, anyway?

Question:

The stacking rule says “any two ground units (regardless of size or type), plus either one artillery battalion or two artillery batteries, pus an unlimited number of supply units, tank units (regardless of size), and company sized units.”

Nowhere in the rules are “tank units” defined. The unit identification chart has armor and armored cavalry, but no “tanks”. Being a tnaker myself I know these 1980 NATO symbols can mean different things at different times. Generally in WWII tanks would be identified by the armor symbol and recce/armored cars use the “armored cavalry” symbol. All the armor symbol units in Narvik are company or platoon (troop) sized. The Norwegian army has three battalions of armored cavalry. It strikes me as just wrong that three battalions could stack for free (an armored cav rgt). I take the “tank units (regardless of size)” to mean company or troop size units with the armor symbol, not the Norwegian battalion size armored cavalry units.

QUESTION: What units qualify as “tank units” in Narvik?

Answer:

The term “tank units” in Narvik Rule 8A (Stacking Limits) refers to those units with the “Armor” or “Panzer” unit type symbol (for which see the Narvik Unit Identification Chart); it does NOT include any other unit types.

Source:

Posted by Arthur Goodwin on the Yahoo Europa Mailing list on 25.07.2013 17:38.

 

 

 

Combined supply and disruption effects.

Question:

Units that are disrupted are ½ defense.

Units that are out of General Supply for 2 turns are ½ defense as well.

The rules do not address units that are both U-2 and disrupted. Are they ½
or ¼?

Answer:

Most Europa rules have a rule that explicitly says that all modifications to the strengths of a unit are cumulative. The Narvik ruleset seems to lack that rule; however, there’s nothing that says the modifiers aren’t cumulative, either. Common sense says that they should be cumulative, so provisionally we’ll go with that, but I will flag this question to be
review by the errata group.

Note that German units on the 2rd and later turns out of supply have their defense strengths reduced to zero rather than halved per Rule 11A2c, last sentence.

Source:

Posted by David Stokes on the Yahoo Europa Mailing list on 16.08.2013 05:30.

Disruption affect on AA.

Question:

Disrupted units may not attack. AA strength of ground AA units is twice their attack factors (attack strength is never affected by general supply). Can a disrupted AA unit fire AA? Is there anything else that affects AA strength?

Answer:
There’s nothing in the Narvik rules which modifies the AA strength.

Source:

Posted by David Stokes on the Yahoo Europa Mailing list on 16.08.2013 05:30.

Combat odds beyond the CRT?

Question:

A question has arisen in Narvik concerning AA fire. Unlike other Europa games Narvik uses an odds-based CRT, the same table is used for both AA fire and air-to-air combat. The table has ratios ranging from 1:4 to 6:1. When firing AA only the defender fires. In air-to-air combat both players exchange fire. Both AA and air combat are done using groupings of up to 5 air units. There are no DRMs for anything.

Our question is as follows – if AA fire results in less than a 1:4 odds ratio does the player roll for results on the 1:4 column or is there simply no chance of a result?

AA Example: 2 AA factors fire on a group of attacking planes with 10 air defense factors. This is a 1:5 odds ratio. Does this fire use the 1:4 column or is the fire ineffective (not rolled)?

Answer:

How are Odds columns determined when resolving AA fire in Narvik? There is no way to answer this definitively given the wording of the ambiguous Narvik rules without knowing the design intent. I have no idea what the design intent was here. This is one (of many) items I brought up to Winston Hamilton re the Narvik rules when Storm over Scandinavia was done. Winston said the Narvik rules were perfect and needed no update; he was the boss then so I dropped matter. Your current Narvik game is the FIRST playing of the game where any questions have been asked about the Narvik rules since then that I am aware of. Having said that, I’ll still take a stab at answering your question.

Per Narvik rule 14 (antiaircraft fire) you “Total the strengths firing, and resolve the attack on the air-to-air CRT, using the antiaircraft strengths as air attack strengths”. Then, per Narvik Rule 12E3 (Air-to-Air Combat Resolution): “The intercepting player totals all air attack strengths of his wave and compares that number to the total air defense strengths of the enemy wave. This is converted to an odde ratio corresponding to one on the air-to-air combat results table, rounding down in favor of the defender.” For AA fire this then means you total all the AA strengths of the one side and compare that number to the total air defense strength of the opposing wave to get a ratio, rounding the number down in favor of the defender. Nothing in rules or chart spelling out how odds under 1:4 are handled (or how odds over 6:1 are handled).

Wording in Narvik Rule 12E3 that “this is converted to an odds ratio corresponding to one on the air-to-air combat results table” would seem to imply that every potential antiaircraft fire MUST be resolved on one of those columns (implying then that odds less than 1:4 are resolved at 1:4). However, the immediately following verbiage “rounding down in favor of the defender” would also allow for arguing otherwise.

So either interpretation can be justified, I think. If you can’t decide among yourselves which one to use and want an outside party to choose, I would say AA fire in Narvik that is calculated as being at less than 1:4 odds is resolved using the 1:4 column as I strongly suspect that was the design intent given my vague memory of my one playing of Narvik (with Winston – who effectively was the “designer” for the update of Narvik in SOS) where I’m pretty sure that was the way it went.

Source:

Posted byArthur E. Goodwin on the Yahoo Europa Mailing list on 26.07.2013 18:26.

Rule 19.E 1st paragraph. First turn Airborne/Air Landing exploitation.

Question:

The rules allow airdropped paras and air landed units to move 1 hex. The airbase adjacent to Stavanger is 1 hex out of regular range of German based Ju52s. So, paras drop 1 hex short, move to the airbase, capturing it. Then two Bns of Infantry airland in the air return phase. Can this infantry then advance to Stavanger and initiate a battle or is this a leapfrog too far?

Answer:

This does not seem to be possible. The para unit per 19E gets its one hex movement in the air phase “immediately prior to the combat phase.” This cannot occur before the air return step, as then it would NOT be occurring “immediately prior to the combat phase.” So, the para unit can only move (and thus capture the airbase) after all air units have returned to airbase, so the air transports with the inf battalions are no longer around to land.

Source:

Answer posted by John Astell at Yahoo Classic Europa mailing list on 16.07.2013 23:40.

Rule 19.E, 2nd paragraph: First turn operations

Question:

On the first turn German units are allowed to exploit 1 hex if they land in a hex occupied by Norwegian units that retreat before combat. In order to use this capability did ALL the Norwegians have to retreat or only 1 Norwegian retreated.
Example: Trondheim and Oslo both contain 2 Norwegian units. If one stands and the other retreats before combat what can the Germans do in their exploitation phase?

Answer:

All Norwegian units must retreat from the hex in order for the German
units there to get the 1-hex exploitation move. (If even one Norwegian unit
remains in the hex, all Germans units there engage in combat with it
instead.)

Source:

Answer posted by John Astell at Yahoo Classic Europa mailing list on 16.07.2013 23:40.

General Supply

Question:

The rules are fuzzy on when general supply is traced. I am assuming this is done after reinforcements are placed, and only at this time. An airdropped German supply depot would not provide General supply until the beginning of the next Norwegian player-turn. Correct? Also assuming all units in staging boxes/at sea are in general supply. Correct?

Answer:

I see no rule that requires general supply to be traced at one time and only one time per player turn. Instead, unless I am missing something and am not recalling my playings of the game correctly (both are possible), general supply is traced as needed. If you are about to do something with a unit, you check its general supply status. For example if you are about to move a unit in the movement or exploitation phase, you check its general supply
status at that time. If you are about to attack an enemy unit, you check its general supply status at that time.

This situation is similar to attack supply. Note that a German depot airdropped in a turn can be used for attack supply. It is also available for general supply. Note that since the air phase comes after the movement phase, air dropping a depot won’t help put German units into general supply during the movement phase. However, if the depot is still present during the exploitation phase, then German combat/motorized units could use it for
general supply.

Also note that Rule 11 specifically gives an example of a British unit going out of general supply DURING a German player turn (presumably as a result of German actions in the turn).

Finally, note that going out of general supply has no effect on a unit until its second [game] turn of being out of general supply. Thus, the only practical consideration here is if a unit that is already out of general supply gets back into general supply in a turn. Example: A German c/m is in its second game turn of being out of general supply. During its movement
phase, it has its movement rating halved per Rule 11. However, it moves so that it ends its movement phase in general supply. During the exploitation phase, if this is still the case, the unit is now in general supply and has its full movement rating for exploitation movement. (There is a gray area here: When the c/m moved back into a region where it could trace general supply during its movement phase, did it regain its full movement rating? Answer: No.)

Rule 12: Airdrops and Antiaircraft Fire

Question:

Are airdrops and transport missions subject to AA? In one place the rules seem to indicate airdrops are, in another place it only talks about AA against bombing missions. For example, the Germans hold Trondheim. The Allies placed an interdiction marker (8 AA) and 2 CLA (5 AA each). If the Germans try to airdrop or air transport a supply depot into Trondheim would all 3 naval units fire AA, only the CLAs, or none?

Answer:

Spot checks of Rule 12A (air sequence) and Rule 14 (AA Fire) indicate that AA fire occurs against mixed waves, with the restrictions that 1) naval units may only fire on mixed waves bombing ships, ports, or supply bases and 2) AA units may fire on any mixed waves except those bombing ships. Air transports on air transport or air drop missions will be in mixed waves (per 12E1) and thus can be fired on by AA units but not ships. I think this is clear and do not wish to take the time to read through all of the rules to see if one says AA can ONLY be fired against aircraft on bombing missions. If you can list any specific rules that says AA can ONLY be fired against bombing missions, I will review this.

Source:

Answer posted by John Astell at Yahoo Classic Europa mailing list on 16.07.2013 23:40.

General Supply

Question:

Can the Germans trace general supply across the Swedish border to the
captured supply depot that they get in Sweden on turn 2 or must that depot
be in Norway to act as a supply source?

Answer:

No German unit at all can trace supply TO any depot anywhere at all! See Rule 11B1, 1st paragraph, 2nd sentence: You trace supply FROM a depot TO a German unit. Perhaps the question was phrased fuzzy? ;-)

The German player may trace supply FROM the special “captured” depot to German units, even if this depot is in Sweden. (Historically, the depot in effect always remained in Sweden and thus was crucial to the Germans holding out: they ended up sitting in the mountains at 25B:1010 next to both Narvik and Sweden and thus had guaranteed general supply, since the Allies were not going to violate Swedish neutrality to try to cut the supply flow.)

Source:

Answer posted by John Astell at Yahoo Classic Europa mailing list on 16.07.2013 23:40.

Gallery